Final Fantasy XIV it is

So I have decided to go for Final Fantasy XIV. A couple of reasons actually:

FFXIV : 19.99 euros
ESO: 59.99 euros

FFXIV : Digital download via store
ESO: Digital download not available due to store maintenance … two days in a row for me. If you don’t want my money then just say so ok guys?

But ok meh, what ever.

I guess if I need my fix of Elder Scrolls I can always fire up Skyrim again, try it with a bunch of mods this time.

So next was downloading and installing FFXIV. And this is currently a frustrating experience. For starters, when buying the digital download, then downloading the game, and then creating and managing your account and linking a new game in it … dear god. It has been a long time since I had to spend so much time in different account pages / websites / subdomains … it’s like the 1990’s again. Needlessly complicated and seriously annoying.

Then there is this …

Apparantly the digital download is the game installer that was used at the end of the beta. So that means you have to download about hm, half the internet to get the game to the current build / patch.

Apparantly the digital download you buy at the store is the game installer that was used at the end of the beta. So that means you have to download about hmm, half the internet to get the game to the current build / patch.

I hate that, you lazy goddamn cheap motherless sons of …

Is it to much to ask to update the download file to the latest installer? So you don’t have to go through this agonizing slow download hell? I’m not going to say how foolish I feel right now for buying FFXIV, because that would be really foolish. But this game better be goddamn amazing to play.

One thought on “Final Fantasy XIV it is

  1. To be honest, I hate downloading and installing MMOs too because they always make you download so much stuff it takes ages! However, all in all I think it’s worth it with FFXIV. The reason it’s so big is because it’s had 3 massive updates with new content, so you are getting the main game, plus the 3 story updates (yes, the updates add more story, like in guild wars 2). It’ll be worth it, I’m sure. ^_^

Leave a Reply

