World of Warcraft: Return of the Beetlebub

What’s a Beetlebub you might ask?

Easy. My level 80 Deathknight character offcourse. You see, I did try WotLK once, a long time ago. But the grind etc really got to me, and I stopped playing (again). And to make sure of that, I deleted the character. Actually I deleted all my characters … which is a stupid thing to do by the way.

A couple of days ago (30th december), it suddenly hit me. I remembered I had a level 80 Deathknight. And why oh why did I delete it? So I did what any man would do in this situation. I opened a GM ticket, explaining the situation, telling how much I loved the expansion and how I missed my deathknight. And I offered a pretty please with sugar on top.

The next day, believe it or not, a Gamemaster replied to me they had restored the level 80 Deathknight to its full glory. Which turned out to be pretty damn naked. Apparantly, I charded and sold every piece of gear, and mailed all the gold to a buddy. Damn, that sucks …

So there I was, totally in the nude, ready for the new Cataclysm zone. And it turns out, that’s pretty hard. You just can’t take a lot of hits without the +200 300 sta gear required these days. A trip to the auctionhouse was needed to provide me some means of questing and replacing gear.

And so it was done. Beetlebub was ready for Cataclysm.
Offcourse, playing a Deathknight is a bit different than playing a Rogue. As a Rogue, stealth and hitting fast and hard are your friends. Being a Deathknight is just standing there in plate armor taking the punches and returning them tenfold. It took some getting used to, but I’m kinda liking it now. Deathknight is raw power.

I competely finished Mount Hyjal, which was a fun and easy experience. The quests lead up to an epic conclusion and you get to fight along some well-known Warcraft heroes.

Briefly visited Vash’jir (?), but there is simply to much water for my taste, and not even that pretty sea-mount can change that. Will probably finish the quests there when I get to level 85, and need a break from something.

Deepholm is my current favorite zone. You get to meet Thrall, who sends you on your way. The zone looks and feels cold, desperate, evil, in ruins, and I like it.

One thing that stands out is the very fact that you often have to fight mobs that use a special mechanic like fire-breath or shadow bolts. When a mob is about to use a certain mechanic (event) on you, you get a warning message across your screen, an alert, and you have to do something. Either get out of the way or move towards another position, something like that. This is new. But also necassary. Because a lot of fights in the new Cataclysm dungeons use similar mechanics, and this is Blizzards way of preparing the player for these mechanics.

More to come.

Leave a Reply

