Accidents do happen

Yesterday we witnessed the aftermath of an accident that happened a hundred meters from our home. One car crashed into another. As you can see in the picture, the collision must have been quite heavy, because the utmost right vehicle is pretty smashed up.

The lady sitting on the road curve is one of the drivers, I guess from the darkgrey Toyota.
Anyway, the junction was a complete mess, no police were at the scene yet, only the ambulance.

10092009050
Eyes open when you drive people!

How the accident happened is guesswork, but I think it’s safe to say that the person responsible for the accident was driving way to fast, and ignored a red light.

So that made me think, why on earth are our governments spending millions of euros a year on promoting road safety through advertisements, billboards, … when it is clear people just don’t care.

I don’t like driving.
I don’t like being in a car.

I go to work every day on a bike (10 minute ride). Have you ever gone to work by bike?

Do you have any idea how many times a week I see an almost-accident?
How many times a week I see some smuck driving his/her car with his/her head up his ass?
How many times I see people driving a vehicle that should be prosecuted for being a complete asocial douchebag?

It’s a good thing I’m not an evil dictator ruling my country with an iron fist. I’d have three simple rules. You break ’em, you loose. No questions asked. Those would be:

  1. Drive slow
  2. Drive carefull
  3. Don’t be a douche

I know, sounds very simplistic. But it’s human nature to overcomplicate things.
Oh, and that €20,000,000 budget for next years road safety campain? Yea, go ahead and deposit it to my bankaccount please …

Leave a Reply

