If you want to change the world …

… start with yourself.

Or you could say: “Be the change you want to see in the world“.

Ok, bare with me here, it’s going to be a bit erratic. This line got in my head because of  an article about the no-flying in Warlords of Draenor. The author writes a very personal ‘rant’ why he feels the decision about no flying is a step backwards in the grand total that is World of Warcraft. He also shows us other examples about poor decisions from Blizzard in the past.

Now, I’m not going to talk about the no flying. I couldn’t care less. I hope flying gets canned as a whole. Bigger world, more puny little hero in a big big world feeling. I want that.

What got me thinking about Mohandas Gandhi and his famous quote was a simple thing. Why did the author take the time to rant about this topic, and even make a post on the WOW US forums about it?
I’m going to be totally honest here, I to fell victim to complaining and bitching about a lot of things in WOW in the past. Just browse through my archive, and you will have plenty of examples …

Every time I see people complain about LFR and why it is the worst thing ever to happen to WOW I just can’t even bother anymore. Stop trying to change the world.

“One cause is a cognitive bias called projection bias. Essentially living inside your own head your entire life makes it exceedingly difficult to understand how others do not also live your same life, think your same thoughts, and hold your same beliefs. In many cases it’s quite frustrating to try to empathize and understand why you yourself may not be the center of the universe, which generally results in one ‘acting out’ in various ways. 
So, in short: the internet.”

Now here is the incredible weird thing. I’m actually trying to do just that. I’m actually trying to be the change I’d like to see in the world. And I’m going out of my comfort zone alot. I invite random people to groups to do quests. I’m friendly, I try to answer peoples questions in general chat. I help out random fellow hero-players about to die to a vicious rare elite on Timeless Isle. I’m friendly in dungeons and LFR.

And you know what? It is working. My gaming sessions are more relaxed, more fun, and guess what, I’ve actually met a bunch of cool people.

The other day I did a random heroic dungeon, and I get Scarlet Halls. Nothing special, only the tank is a bit gung-ho kamikaze. Eventually we come up to the underground corridors with the cannons, where he just pulls everything, and decides to tank it all around a corner, in front of cannons firing tadaa … cannonballs. Can you feel it coming? He went down in the blink of an eye. I couldn’t heal through walls, and he didn’t use a single defensive cooldown.

When he died he said “Healer wtf you doing”.

Now, in any other circumstance I would have linked his death report (damage taken etc) in party chat and I would have completely gone bezerk on his ass. It’s not because you are wearing a single LFR item you suddenly become immortal right? And the fact that tanking everything in front of cannons while putting yourself behind a corner is generally considred to be a dumb thing to do?

But I did not go bezerk. I did not rage. I did nothing of that sort. Instead I just replied with “Warn me next time please”. We then finished the dungeon like nothing happened. We all parted ways, and probably never see each other again. Simple really. I know it wasn’t my fault, and he probably knows as well.

So … be the change you want to see. Not just pretty words.

One thought on “If you want to change the world …

  1. I think Gandhi would’ve been pleased to hear this story.

    Alas the world is full of really nice people that are not good at taking onboard stuff even after you’ve patiently explained it to them a few times. Still us expecting them to know it all is more dumb than them not knowing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

