Warlords of Draenor sounds promising

A lot of information the last couple of days regarding the next expansion for World of Warcraft, and I have to admit, Blizzard has my attention. Of course needless to day it is going to be more of the same old, but certain changes / things they said got me excited.

For instance:

* Level 90 boost on purchase
Excellent. Want a new character to try out, use the boost and you can skill the grinding previous content you’ve done countless of times before

* Dungeons: A redesigned UBRS
OMG. One of my favorite dungeons ever. It’s personal, and most people look at me funny when I say this out loud, but I don’t care. Awesome!

* Leveling

“Taking a cue from the Timeless Isle, Warlords of Draenor will strike a balance between traditional questing and discovery.”

This can mean a shitload of things, and for the sake of been there before, lets wait for the beta and beta news before we go mental over it. It does sound promising, but that is usually the case with Pr talk.

* Garrison farm like thing

“As you progress toward level 100, you’ll also open up the opportunity to create your very own Garrison—one of Warlords of Draenor’s biggest new features.”

Sounds cool. Player housing done a bit different? Huge potential here, but as always, Blizzard needs to actually strike the ball to score a homerun … We’ll see.

* UI improvements
That is about freakin’ time. To bad it only took them 4 expansions to get there.

* Raiding and flex yadayada
Blizzard really wants people to get back into raiding again. Why the fook?

* Reforging gone
Yay! No longer going to askmrrobot every time you get new gear. Excellent. More fun in the game, less excell number management.

* No more grinding and carrying different sets as a healer

“The primary stats on armor will now change based on your spec. Plate drops and it will have whatever stats your class needs, no more Intellect plate! No more PvP Priest Healing set and PvP Priest DPS set, just a Priest set.”

This is the winner if you ask me. Why it took so long for this to be in the game is beyond me, but for this alone I’m am happy as a Panda.

* Item squish
No more items with +3000 intellect and over the top numbers. Back to the roots baby!

* No flying till the first patch (6.1)
Blizzard gets it. Immersion is needed in a fantasy game. Flying over the world  and dropping down on top of a quest location is not immersive, it’s not adding to the gameplay. It is convenient and fast that’s for sure. But it kills the game on so many levels.

The fun part of the new expansion is the reactions from gamers all over the world, usually on forums. People hating features already, cursing Blizzard for not doing this and that… I love it. People as a whole, just fooking suck. I’m no hypocrite, I’m a person to, so yeah, I suck to.

“One cause is a cognitive bias called projection bias. Essentially living inside your own head your entire life makes it exceedingly difficult to understand how others do not also live your same life, think your same thoughts, and hold your same beliefs. In many cases it’s quite frustrating to try to empathize and understand why you yourself may not be the center of the universe, which generally results in one ‘acting out’ in various ways.
So, in short: the internet.”

Best quote ever. Read it, over and over.

Now, for the fun part:

* No flying, I’m griefing!
* Worst expansion

http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/1395821-This-expansion-will-destroy-WoW!
This one will surprise you if you read it until the end. I suggest you do ;-)

Categories: Uncategorized, World of Warcraft | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Warlords of Draenor sounds promising

  1. I’m glad you’re finding the positives in it, and are looking forward to it. There’s actually quite a lot of positivity about the new WoW expansion in my blog feed.
    I personally have lost the love for WoW, I don’t think I can go back for any sort of expansion, especially not with a subscription.

    • Thanks :-)

      GW2 is one of the best looking / immersive mmo’s I played lately, but I can’t shake the feeling something is missing for me when I’m playing it.

      I can’t quite put my finger to it, it’s weird :-) I think it probably has to do with not being able to play with friends. GW2 solo is a cold experience.

      The new expansion is promising less boring gridning, and more fun grinding, so I guess we all have to wait and see if it’s all just PR talk.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

